Finance & Management   •   Commissioner Jason Dilges

Economic Development  •   Commissioner Pat Costello

Tourism   •   Secretary Jim Hagen

Agriculture   •   Secretary Lucas Lentsch

Labor and Regulation   •   Secretary Marcia Hultman

Game, Fish, and Parks   •   Secretary Jeff Vonk

Environment and Natural Resources   •   Secretary Steve Pirner

Corrections   •   Secretary Denny Kaemingk

Military   •   Adjutant General Tim Reisch

Public Safety   •   Secretary Trevor Jones

Transportation   •   Secretary Darin Bergquist

Housing Development Authority   •   Executive Director Mark Lauseng

Education   •   Secretary Melody Schopp

Information Technology   •   Commissioner David Zolnowsky

Human Resources   •   Commissioner Laurie Gill

Social Services   •   Secretary Lynne Valenti

Health   •   Secretary Doneen Hollingsworth

Human Services   •   Secretary Gloria Pearson

Administration   •   Commissioner Paul Kinsman

Revenue   •   Secretary Andy Gerlach

Tribal Relations   •   Secretary Leroy "J.R." LaPlante

Veterans Affairs   •   Secretary Larry Zimmerman


Dusty Johnson - Chief of Staff

Kim Malsam-Rysdon - Senior Advisor

Tony Venhuizen - Director of Policy and Communications

Jim Seward - General Counsel

Matt Konenkamp - Policy Advisor

Kim Olson - Policy Advisor

Nathan Sanderson - Policy Advisor

Jim Soyer - Legislative Director

Laura Ringling - Policy Analyst

Patrick Weber - Policy Analyst

Doreen Kayser - Scheduler

Kelsey Pritchard - Assistant Director of Communications

Grace Kessler - Constituent Services

Kris Erickson - Correspondence Manager

Amy Mancuso - Executive Assistant

Monica Harding - Executive Assistant

Nila Novotny - Executive Assistant

Judy Swartz - Administrative Assistant

Kristie Hauck - Receptionist

Marty Davis - Human Resources Director

Linda Fridley - Residence Manager


Tony Venhuizen

Tony Venhuizen

Tony Venhuizen serves on the Governor’s Executive Committee as the Director of Policy and Communications. Prior to work in the Daugaard administration, Tony spent five years on the Board of Regents, worked on the Rounds for Governor campaigns of 2002 and 2006, was a law clerk in the First Judicial Circuit of South Dakota, and served as Campaign Manager on the Daugaard for Governor campaign.

Tony, a 2001 graduate of Armour High School, went on to earn a History and Political Science degree at SDSU, where he was awarded the Harry S. Truman Scholarship. Tony pursued his post-graduate work at The University of South Dakota, where he earned his JD from the School of Law.

Tony and his wife Sara, an electrical engineer, live in Pierre and recently became parents with the birth of their first son, Henry. Tony enjoys studying US History, in particular the American Presidency, and is a self-described Winston Churchill enthusiast. His hobbies include reading, watching The West Wing and James Bond films, and following the Green Bay Packers and Nebraska Cornhuskers.