Here you will find higher education opportunities as well as a link to a listing of K-12 school districts within South Dakota. The South Dakota Board of Regents has constitutional authority to govern the system of public higher education in South Dakota. The South Dakota Board of Technical Education serves as the oversight group for the state’s four technical institutes. The South Dakota Department of Education oversees K-12 school accreditation and accountability, teacher certification and the development of state content standards.

State Universities
Black Hills State University
Dakota State University
Northern State University
SD School of Mines & Technology
South Dakota State University
University of South Dakota
Private Colleges and Universities
Augustana University
Dakota Wesleyan University
Mount Marty College
National American University
Presentation College
University of Sioux Falls
Tribal Colleges and Universities
Ihanktonwan Community College
Lower Brule Community College
Oglala Lakota College
Sinte Gleska University
Sitting Bull College
Sisseton Wahpeton College
Technical Colleges
Lake Area Technical College
Mitchell Technical College
Southeast Technical College
Western Dakota Technical College
Public Higher Education Centers
Black Hills State University at Rapid City
Capital University Center (in Pierre)
University Center-Sioux Falls
K-12 School Districts
To learn more about each of the K-12 school districts in South Dakota, please visit the South Dakota Department of Education’s Educational Directory.